Beautiful mandala tattoo, unknown artist  mandala mandalatattoo

21 Fantastic Mandala Tattoos

"Mandala” is a Sanskrit word meaning “circle”. Circles are at the heart of mandala tattoo, even a square or triangle seems to dominate.

nicole in Tattoo Ideas

The measurement from the center of a circle to its edges is the same all around, giving circles the symbolic meaning of radial balance. In other words, all things within the circle are equal, and so any symbols contained within the circle are granted equal importance. A mandala tattoo represents wholeness, a cosmic diagram reminding us of our relation to infinity, extending beyond and within our bodies and minds. Mandala tattoo design could symbolize the notion that life is never ending. 

Enjoy these 21 fantastic tattoos to find your next tattoo inspiration.

Red mandala tattoo, artist unknown mandala mandalatattoo red redtattoo
Red mandala tattoo, artist unknown #mandala #mandalatattoo #red #redtattoo
Mandala tattoo by Balen Levore balenlevore mandala geometric
Mandala tattoo by Balen Levore #balenlevore #mandala #geometric
Awesome mandala tattoo by Carl Göthammar mandala mandalatattoo CarlGöthammar geometric
Awesome mandala tattoo by Carl Göthammar #mandala #mandalatattoo #CarlGöthammar #geometric
Mandala by Cats at 2Spirit Tattoo cats mandala ornaments geometric
Mandala by Cats at 2Spirit Tattoo #cats #mandala #ornaments #geometric
Beautiful shoulder mandala tattoo by Cris Hold crishold mandala geometric
Beautiful shoulder mandala tattoo by Cris Hold #crishold #mandala #geometric

Recent from Tattoo Ideas

Mandala tattoo can be created by individuals to symbolize their journeys through life. Mandala tattoo can also tell a story of where an individual has been. In some cases they will reveal the individual's path in life.

Red mandala tattoo by Daemon Rowanchilde DaemonRowanchilde mandala geometric ornaments red
Red mandala tattoo by Daemon Rowanchilde #DaemonRowanchilde #mandala #geometric #ornaments #red
Mandala tattoo by Dotwork Damian mandala DotworkDamian
Mandala tattoo by Dotwork Damian #mandala #DotworkDamian

Mandalas can have spiritual significance to an individual or group of individuals. The Hindus were one of the first people to use a mandala as a spiritual tool, but the mandalas most people are familiar with, are ones made by Buddhists. Mandalas are used for meditation purposes allowing the individual meditating to become one with the universe. The symbolism behind the creation of a mandala tattoo can have significant meaning for many individuals whether they are Jewish, Buddhist, Christian, Pagan or of any other religious orientation.

Flower mandala tattoo by Franco Maldonado mandala
Flower mandala tattoo by Franco Maldonado #mandala
Mandala tattoo by Geoff Horn mandala geoffhorn geometric
Mandala tattoo by Geoff Horn #mandala #geoffhorn #geometric
Mandala tattoo by Guy le Tatooer mandala mandalatattoo geometric ornaments
Mandala tattoo by Guy le Tatooer #mandala #mandalatattoo #geometric #ornaments

The mandala appears to us in all aspects of life, the Earth, the Sun, the Moon and more obviously the circles of life that encompass friends, family and communities.

Tattoo by Horifuki horifuki mandala red moon
Tattoo by Horifuki #horifuki #mandala #red #moon
Geometric inspired tattoo by Juan Salgado mandala juansalgado geometric
Geometric inspired tattoo by Juan Salgado #mandala #juansalgado #geometric
Hand tattoo by Kairy-Ma kairyma
Hand tattoo by Kairy-Ma #kairyma
Tattoo by Kike Bugni kikebugni mandala mandalatattoo
Tattoo by Kike Bugni #kikebugni #mandala #mandalatattoo
Awesome tattoo by Lukas Solik mandala lukassolik
Awesome tattoo by Lukas Solik #mandala #lukassolik
Tattoo by Mallory Swinchock MallorySwinchock mandala
Tattoo by Mallory Swinchock #MallorySwinchock #mandala
Colorful geometric tattoo by Patrick Sans colorful mandala patricksans
Colorful geometric tattoo by Patrick Sans #colorful #mandala #patricksans
Tattoo by Pierluigi Deliperi mandala matching red PierluigiDeliperi
Tattoo by Pierluigi Deliperi #mandala #matching #red #PierluigiDeliperi
Tattoo by Tattoo Dagmar tattoodagmar geometric
Tattoo by Tattoo Dagmar #tattoodagmar #geometric
Tattoo by Thomas Hooper thomashooper mandala geometric ornaments details
Tattoo by Thomas Hooper #thomashooper #mandala #geometric #ornaments #details

nicole

@Nicole Losey

I am a writer, digital artist and web designer residing in Asheville, NC. I enjoy all tattoo styles, but my favorites are the new watercolor style and realism. I love color and I really like artists that can make it come to life.

Follow

More from Author

We Recommend

Recent Staff Picks