40 Blazing Phoenix Tattoos

40 Blazing Phoenix Tattoos

The phoenix is a very old symbol and its popularity in the tattoo world is present in many different cultures.

In Occident, the legend of the phoenix takes its roots in Ancient Greek mythology. It was described as a magical bird with a stunning longevity that had the power to rise from his own ashes (or another bird would rise from the old bird).

In Ancient Egypt, the phoenix was associated with the sun and summer. In Asia, the phoenix, known in China as Fenghuang and Japan as hô-ô, is a bird connected with heaven, and which apparitions are a good omen. It is the symbol of the empress, a female element associated with the dragon, a male element, for war or love.

The meaning of the phoenix is mostly resurrection, and thus, has been used by christians. It is mainly used as tattoos to celebrate the start of a new life or a survival, for cancer survivors for example. In Asia, it stands for justice, fidelity, peace and femininity. Teamed with flames, it alludes to purification and creation. It is also an alchemy and esoteric symbol.

The phoenix tattoo is represented as a big bird, close to an eagle (in Europe) or a peacock (in Asia). Some prefer to depict it with flames, reminding of Russian firebird, or in fire tones and gold. As a Japanese traditional tattoo, phoenix feathers have only primary colors, but it is mostly very colorful. Its royal appearance also makes it fit for black and grey, and big pieces. Pretty or badass, it is always very graceful and flamboyant. It is a design that stands out, to show an outgoing personality or a strong need to live to the fullest. It is a very noble tattoo design, coveted by many ink lovers and an huge challenge for tattoo artists, and thus, especially present in tattoo masters portfolios.

You will recognize many famous names in this selection, but also discover new ones. But all those artists have tried their hand at phoenix tattoos, giving their own vision and touch to this iconic design for the greatest pleasure of their clients and, of course, for our eyes... I hope you will enjoy those 40 smoking hot phoenix tattoos!
The master at work: our friend Henning Jorgensen has made an awesome phoenix tattoo!
Great phoenix tattoo by Zhuo Dan Ting. #phoenix #zhuodanting
The European's take with this Photoshop style tattoo by Xoil. #photoshop #xoil #phoenix #lettering #qoute
Rising from death: epic phoenix tattoo by Mike Moses. #epic #phoenix #mikemoses
Impressive backpiece phoenix tattoo by Winson! #phoenix #winson
A very nice tribal version, love it! By Douglas Lopretto #tribal #phoenix
Enormous and colorful side phoenix tattoo by Tony Mancia: wow! #phoenix #tonymancia
Great back phoenix tattoo by the talented Tin-Tin from Paris. #tintin #phoenix
The master Shige is of course responsible for this amazing bodysuit. #shige #bodysuit
Another irezumi by Shige, gorgeous! #irezumi #shige #bird #colorful
Great idea for a scalp tattoo for a cancer survivor! #scalp #phoenix
New school version of phoenix tattoo by Sarah Miller. #sarahmiller #phoenix
Just the flames, nice phoenix tattoo by Rodrigo Tas. #phoenix #rodrigotas
Love this phoenix tattoo by Popeye Tatwo, good vibes here! #popeyetatwo #pheonix
Very vivid phoenix tattoo, artist unknown. #phoenix #bird #color #back
Bright colors, rad design and great placement for this phoenix tattoo made at Giahi Tattoo Shop. #giahi #phoenix
Phoenix are making very nice sleeves, artist unknown. #phoenix #sleeve #colorful
Great Japanese traditional phoenix tattoo, artist unknown. #phoenix #japanese #traditional
Fancy hip tattoo, colorful and sexy! #phoenix
Brilliant new school phoenix chestpiece, artist unknown. #phoenix
Just love this neo tribal back tattoo! Unique! #phoenix #neotribal
Nice colors and patterns here by Nathan Kostechko. #phoenix #nathankostechko
Etching style for alchemy related tattoo by Master. #alchemy #phoenix #master
Lovely sidepiece by Ma of Chronic Ink. #maofchronicink #phoenix
Graphic phoenix tattoo by Lukasz Bam Kaczmarek. #phoenix #lukaszbamkaczmarek
A technicolor cover-up by Lelo. #technicolor #coverup #phoenix
Burning bright phoenix tattoo by Kid Kros. #phoenix #kidkros
Breath-taking backpiece by Khaosan of famous shop BKK Ink. #khaosan #phoenix
A detail on a gorgeous phoenix tattoo by Johan Finné. #phoenix #johanfinne
And that huge piece is also by Johan Finné, from Sweden.
Beautiful phoenix tattoo by Guicho. #guicho #phoenix
Love the light effect here, by Fede Gas! #phoenix
Amazing detailed phoenix with a cross by Swedish master Ellen Westholm! #cross #phoenix
Great piece by Ink Master's judge Chris Nunez. #Phoenix #chrisnunez
Flames on black by Chad Chase. #phoenix #chadchase
Pretty phoenix tattoo by Anna Belozyorova. #phoenix #annabelozyorova
Great phoenix tattoo by Ali Ersari. #Phoenix #aliersari
Nice phoenix tattoo by Alexander Grim. #phoenix #alexandergrim
Watercolor Madness for Adam Kremer. #watercolor #adamkremer #phoenix
One design, two artists: here by Russian master Dmitriy Samohin. #dmitriysamohin #phoenix
The same design, different version by Nick Potter. #nickpotter #phoenix
Phoenix tattoo by Gege. #gege #Phoenix
Amazing leg sleeve Phoenix by Jo Harrison. #phoenix #joharrison
androidapplearrow-rounded arrowArrowsavatar caretiPad Portraitcircle close-round closecomment-filled comment cross-fashioncrosscustomicondiscoverexiteyefilter globe hamburgerhearticon-loading iconlike-filled location mail nextphone pin-filled pin review-shop review-star scroll-downsearchCombined ShapeCreated with Sketch. star userverifiedwebsite