Sweet! frog frogtattoo

How To Tell The Difference Between Toad Tattoos And Frog Tattoos

We continue your taxonomy lessons with pictures of toad tattoos and frog tattoos, but which is which?

jentheripper in Tattoo Ideas

Quick! What is the difference between frogs and toads? If you are confident in your answer, just skip to the image gallery of toad and frog tattoos we’ve got for you below. You may also skip to the images if you hate learning. But if you want to know how to differentiate between the two, read on.


One of the easiest ways to tell if the amphibian in front of you is a toad or a frog is to simply bite into it. A toad will taste bitter and emit a terrible smell when its skin is punctured. In contrast, a frog will just taste like slime and organs. Thanks to these defenses, toads do not have nearly as many predators as frogs. (Editor’s Note: Please don’t go around biting amphibians. Some are poisonous and it may kill you… also it’s a real jerk move. [Author’s note: but the secretions of some frogs and toads can get you really high, so wrapping your mouth around one can totally be worth it.])


Another way to tell the difference is to look at them. A toad’s hind legs are very short when compared to those of a frog. A frog’s legs will be longer than the rest of its body where a toad’s will be shorter. You can also distinguish them by their feet. A frog will have webbed feet as they spend most of their lives in the water. They may also have pads on them. A toad’s foot lacks both of these features.


You can also take an educated guess based on the behavior of the observed animal. If the subject is chilling in water, it’s probably a frog. Frogs also take long jumps, whereas toads transport themselves via short hops.


Now that you’re armed with that knowledge, we won’t even need to tell you if these tattoos are of a frog or a toad. Don’t you just love it when Tattoodo makes you smarter? So, anyway, check out these awesome pictures of people who sport cool frog tattoos. Or toad tattoos. You know the difference.


Lovely realistic tattoo by Boris. boris frog frogtattoo
Lovely realistic tattoo by Boris. #boris #frog #frogtattoo
Dynamic piece by Carlox Angarita! CarloxAngarita frog snake
Dynamic piece by Carlox Angarita! #CarloxAngarita #frog #snake
Charming hand tattoo by G Castro. gcastro frog frogtattoo
Charming hand tattoo by G Castro. #gcastro #frog #frogtattoo
Badass toad backpiece by Horimatsue!!! horimatsue frog backpiece
Badass toad backpiece by Horimatsue!!! #horimatsue #frog #backpiece
Mysterious piece by Jarryd Tricklebank. jarrydtricklebank frog frogtattoo
Mysterious piece by Jarryd Tricklebank. #jarrydtricklebank #frog #frogtattoo

Recent from Tattoo Ideas

All-seeing frog by Kamil Czapiga. KamilCzapiga frog frogtattoo
All-seeing frog by Kamil Czapiga. #KamilCzapiga #frog #frogtattoo
Adorable tattoo by Kel Tait. keltait frog frogtattoo
Adorable tattoo by Kel Tait. #keltait #frog #frogtattoo
Cute new school tattoo by Lindsay Bugbaker. lindsaybugbaker frog frogtattoo
Cute new school tattoo by Lindsay Bugbaker. #lindsaybugbaker #frog #frogtattoo
Awesome realism by London Reese. londonreese frog frogtattoo
Awesome realism by London Reese. #londonreese #frog #frogtattoo
Badass samurai toad by Michael Munter! michaelmunter toad toadtattoo
Badass samurai toad by Michael Munter! #michaelmunter #toad #toadtattoo
Scary piece by Sicko Black... sickoblack toad toadtattoo
Scary piece by Sicko Black... #sickoblack #toad #toadtattoo
Nice tree forgs by Stefano Alcantara. StefanoAlcantara frog frogtattoo
Nice tree forgs by Stefano Alcantara. #StefanoAlcantara #frog #frogtattoo
Funky hand tattoo by Sung Song... sungsong frog frogtattoo
Funky hand tattoo by Sung Song... #sungsong #frog #frogtattoo
Fancy one by Tianna Osborne. tiannaosborne frog frogtattoo
Fancy one by Tianna Osborne. #tiannaosborne #frog #frogtattoo
Great piece by Tony Wayne. tonywayne frog frogtattoo
Great piece by Tony Wayne. #tonywayne #frog #frogtattoo

Each one of these is a beautiful tattoo homage to our amphibian friends. If you’ve ever considered getting a frog tattoo or a toad tattoo, we
suggest you hop to it.

jentheripper

@JenTheRipper

Writer for art related medias. Fell in love with tattoo while researching for another passion, crime history. Travelling, admiring, sharing.

Follow

More from Author

We Recommend

Recent Staff Picks