Lizard Tattoos Are the Scales on Which Reptile Love Is Weighed

Lizard Tattoos Are the Scales on Which Reptile Love Is Weighed

We take a look at those who have taken their love for their cold-blooded friends to the next level with a lizard tattoo

Have you ever been unable to see the joy that someone else sees in a specific slice of the world? That’s how I feel about lizards. But some people love the little creatures enough to adorn their bodies with lizard tattoos.

My friend Jill just got a pet lizard, a bearded dragon named Radio Edit, and clearly she loves it, but I just don’t get it. Thankfully, I didn’t have to feign interest long when she was showing it off — Jill accidentally spilled his food (a bunch of worms) into the litter box adjacent to the cage and watching her try to get them out put a genuine smile on my face.


Lizards are, as all of us are keenly aware, a suborder of the order of reptiles known as squamates. Their most interesting biological feature is their ability to regenerate lost tissue, most specifically their tails. Often, a lizard’s tail is a different color than the rest of their bodies in order to draw a predator’s attention away from their mid-section and vital organs. When a predator strikes a lizard’s tail, they can simply shed it through a process known as autotomy.


I gotta give it up for the evolutionary design of these little critters. After all, lizards have been roaming the earth for around 200 million years, which is way more than a lot of life present today. And they’re mostly harmless to humans, save for the Komodo dragon which has been known to stalk and kill people, which make them the perfect pets for a supervillian. But other than that, I just don’t get keeping lizards as pets.


I try not to judge other’s tastes too harshly – if people can find joy in lizards, this joy should be celebrated. And what better way to celebrate this true love than with a lizard tattoo? We’ve wrangled up some pictures of people with tattoos that proudly show love to the lizards of the world.





New school cutie by Aaron Springs. #aaronsprings #lizard #lizardtattoo
Nice little companion by Aygul Bayanova. #aygulbayanova #lizard #lizardtattoo
Looking cool in neo tribal style by Juliano Torres. #julianotorres #lizard #lizardtattoo
Japanese style by Junior Tattoo. #juniortattoo #lizard #lizardtattoo
Big badass lizard tattoo by Benjamin Peters! #benjaminpeters #lizard #lizardtattoo
Lacy lizard tattoo by Laura AE Taylor. #lauraaetaylor #lizard #lizardtattoo
Elegant piece by Léo Marsiglia. #leomarsiglia #lizard #lizardtattoo
Cool dotwork lizard tattoo by Les Petits Points de Fanny. #lespetitspointsdefanny #lizard #lizardtattoo
Mysterious composition by Mindaugas Bumblys. #MindaugasBumblys #lizard #lizardtattoo
Another beautiful shoulder lizard tattoo by Nelly Pink... #nellypink #lizard #lizardtattoo
Awesome lizard tattoo by Pommie Paul. #pommiepaul #lizard #lizardtattoo
Lizard tattoo by Saskia Viney. #saskiaviney #lizard #lizardtattoo
Japanese art by Stefano De Cenzo. #stefanodecenzo #lizard #lizardtattoo
Graphic lizard tattoo by Tato Castro. #tatocastro #lizard #lizardtattoo
Charming little lizard tattoo by Tattooist Ida... #tattooistida #lizard #lizardtattoo

While I may not get the lizard love, these people with totally bitching lizard tattoos have more than enough of it to go around.

androidapplearrow-rounded arrowArrowsavatar-hollowavatar caretiPad Portraitcheckmark circle close-round closecomment-filled comment cross-fashioncrosscustomicondiscoverdone exiteyefilter globe hamburgerhearticon-loading iconlike-filled Likelocation mail nextphone pin-filled pin review-shop review-star Savescroll-downsearch ShareCombined ShapeCreated with Sketch. star userverifiedwebsite