30 Beautiful Tattoos On Dark Skin

By JenTheRipper - 
30 Beautiful Tattoos On Dark Skin

We have received a lot of requests from tattoo lovers about tattoos on dark skin.

There are a lot of prejudices about tattooing dark carnations and many unanswered questions from people coveting ink. The very first thing we could advise is to make sure you found a tattoo artist with dark skin clients in his portfolio, which means he or she has got the experience (don't trust him blind) and of course, skills.

Tattooing tanned skins is different than tattooing pale skins, not more difficult nor impossible. As ink is injected under the skin, the melanin pigment, present in the cells of the dermis, is reacting just like a filter, hiding some colors that are clearer than the skin. Darker the pigments are, less transparent the skin is and less visible the tattoo would be if you pick clear colors and thin lines. But indeed, color tattoos are possible for people of African or Latin American origins: just pick bold colors, darker than your skin tone in summer. Black, red and green inks are often recommended but an experienced artist could tell you which colors would suit you the best, as well as the type of design, shading variations and line thickness possible in your specific case. Because every skin is unique, just like you are!

We also have a lot of questions about watercolor and white ink tattoos on black carnation. They are not impossible, but could be as problematic as for any kind of skin, so your tattoo artist is the best judge. Take the time to talk with him, and also with your dermatologist to know if you could be prone to keloids, those large raised scars common with brown skins that could interfere with the tattoo process.

These are just some précautions to make sure your tattoo would be the best: the passion for ink knows no boundary and we hope that those 30 examples of beautiful and varied tattoos on dark skin could inspire you.

Graphic tattoos and watercolors are trendy and definitely not impossible: just pick the best! Here a tattoo on dark skin by Amanda Wachob #darkskin #AmandaWachob #watercolor #graphic
A beautiful half sleeve. Tattoo on dark skin by Billy DeCola, inspired by a rose design of Luke Wessman. #BillyDeCola #lukewessman #flower #floral #blackandgrey
Elegant black and grey shoulder tattoo. Artist unknown #flower #bird #blackandgrey
Model Claudia Nelson has got some pretty color tattoos #flower #floral #claudianelson #fullsleeve #color
Another delicate rose tattoo on dark skin #flower #rose #shoulder #darskin
Rapper Wiz Khalifa and his backpiece made at Dark Star Tattoo in Vancouver #shark #blackandgrey #darkstartattoo #wizkhalifa #rapper
The gorgeous floral backpiece of hot model Kelly Palcy #floral #flower #kellypalcy
Imani K. Brown is among the most talented tattoo artist in the United States, as well as one of the best female tattoo artists and African American artists. She made this great sleeve #imanikbrown #blackwork #femaletattooartist
Another gorgeous sleeve tattoo on dark skin by Imani Brown #blackandgrey #imanibrown
Read our post celebrating tattooed mothers. And visit the great site of Imani K. Brown here.
A colorful chestpiece by Imani Brown too #color #imanibrown
A full Japanese bodysuit on dark skin #fullback #japanese #bodysuit
Perfect linework on dark skin and perfect photography #linework #darkskintattoo #stripes
Elegant pin up portrait by tattoo artist Made Rich #pinup #maderich #blackandgrey
Stunning realistic portrait of Malcolm X on dark skin by Mike DeVries #blackandgrey #portrait #malcomx #mikedevries
This lion tattoo by Marc Durrant is just fabulous #lion #darkskin #marcdurrant
Great hand tattoos with some Massonic symbols. Badass! #handtattoos #massonic #darkskintattoo
Heavily tattooed and hot. Tattoo on dark skin by Miya Bailey #miyabailey #darkskin
Breath-taking photography of model Moniasse Sessou, tattooed by Touka Voodoo of London. #toukavoodoo #moniassesessou #darkskintattoo
The intricate neo tribal work of Peter Walrus Madsen perfectly adorns the muscles #tribal #neotribal #peterwalrusmadsen
Pretty lotus tattoo. Photo by Bill Tricomi #billtricomi #flower
Nice tattoo on dark skin. Photo by Glenford Nunez #tattoosondarkskin #darkskin #glenfordnunex
Love this etching-style tattoo on model Milloux Suicide! She rocks it! Photo by Jesse Bodas
Beautiful picture by Kirk McGirt #kirkmcgirt #tattooondarkskin
Amazing Japanese tattoo! Wish I could tell you who is the master behind it, but if you know, please tell! Photo by T. Shane #japanese #backtattoos #floral #flower
Rock singer Mat Bastard favors old school tattoos by French artist Greg Briko #matbastard #gregbriko #blackwork #linework
Lovely sleeve tattoo on dark skin #sleeve #lettering
The eye-catching blackwork tattoo on dark skin by Tomas Tomas #tomastomas #geometric #blackwork
Fine details on that piece by Vyvyn Lazonga #leaves #floral #blue
A white ink tattoo on dark skin is an option, but make sure your tattoo artist knows what he is doing. #whiteink #geometric
androidapplearrow-right arrow-rounded arrowavatar-followavatar-hollowavatar-unfollowavatar burger-searchcaretcheckmark closecomment-filled cross-fashioncrossdone exitfacebook hearticoninstagram like-filled Likelistlocation-hollow location mediumnext pin-filled play previous review-star Path 2save-plusSavescroll-downsearch shareshareEmail shareFacebook sharePinterest shareTwitter Combined ShapeCreated with Sketch. star studio-simpleGo to studio icontag-button user-lockverified website youtubezoom-in zoom-out